How to Roast Chestnuts

One of my favorite treats during this season is roasted chestnuts.

Last weekend we strolled along 5th avenue in New York City to take in CHRISTMAS IN NEW YORK. It was magical. One of my ‘must do” things is to munch on roasted chestnuts while elbowing people to see the sights at Rock Center. 

I cheerfully waltzed up to the nearest street cart, the smell of honey roasted peanuts that usually gross me out didn’t even phase me. I was in the christmas spirit! As the street vendor handed me my roasted chestnuts he said, “That’s $5 maam”. I looked at my little bag of chestnuts and said… $5 for…? He gestured at the bag as if to say… those are your chestnuts lady!!

8 Roasted Chestnuts for $5 – that’s holiday spirit robbery!

I did buy my chestnuts and shared them with our group which left me with 3 roasted chestnuts… 3 delicious – christmas – filled – roasted – chestnuts.

The next day, I decided to make my own at home. I paid $6.99 for a pound of chestnuts  – approximately 30ish- and got to work.

Here’s how you can make your own yummy roasted chestnuts … christmas spirit is optional.

  1. Set the oven to 425 degrees
  2. Grab a paring knife and cut an X on the flat side of the chestnuts making sure to pierce the skin.
  3. Place on a baking pan.
  4. Stick them in the oven for about 35 – 40 minutes. make sure to shake them once half way through the roasting time.

DONE!

Be careful before you peel your chestnuts, they are very hot. Don’t wait for them to cool too much though. I find it easier to peel the shells while they are hot.

Happy Holidays everyone!

