DIY Vintage Christmas Postcards

On a recent window shopping expedition, I came across Vintage Christmas Postcards. These were just so charming and screamed christmas all over!

As Lily and I are always on the lookout for new crafts and art techniques to test out, the combination of glitter and santa was perfect for this time of year!

The two of us work on at least 4 – 5 crafts a week. I set her up at the kitchen table while I cook and we chat and cook and make art. I love these times.

Yesterday, we decided to  recreate VINTAGE CHRISTMAS POSTCARDS.

This is a simple and easy craft to do with kids. I love the way that the postcards turned out, these will be making an appearance on many holiday presents this year!

Here’s how you make them. SUPPLIES:

  • stock paper in white or eggshell
  • glue
  • glitter – all colors
  • cardboard – get this from your recycling bin
  • printer
  • scissors

Step 1 – Do a GOOGLE image search for Vintage Chirstmas Cards. Grab the images you like and drop them into WORD. I was able to get 2 images on one 8X10 page. You can adjust the color in WORD if you need to. Print on stock paper.

Step 2 – Cut the border of your vintage image and glue it to a cardboard backing. This just adds some weight to the postcard.

Step 3 – Time to glitter! Remember to keep it simple.  The original vintage cards used ‘fine’ glitter and and it was only in key places of the postcards. So pick your special spots and go for it. I used a fine tip Martha Stewart glue pen to glitter the words on one of the cards.

Step 4 – Sprinkle glitter generously over the glued area. Give it a few minutes to dry and then dust of the loose glitter. I always save the loose glitter for reuse.

Step 5- Find another part of the image to glitter. Keeping doing this until you are satisfied with your creation.

And you are done!

I found this cute image of St. Bernards… just like my Jonah beast!

My photos are just not doing justice to the postcards. They are so charming and cute in real life. I encourage you to give it a try. Lily made one as well… it’s my favorite!

Merry Christmas everyone.. and happy  glitter to all!

