Don’t Let The Pigeon Run This App

One of my most favorite childrens authors is Mo Willems. We discovered his book, Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, a few years ago and I can safely say it’s one of Lily’s favorite books. I read the book to her kindergarten class last year and to this day I have random 1st graders running up to me saying , “ I let the pigeon drive the bus” !

Mo Willems has other successful books, among those we love the Knuffle Bunny series. You should check em out.

Following the success of the “Don’t Let The Pigeon…” books, there now is an APP for kids 2 – 7 years of age.

The app, DONT LET THE PIGEON RUN THIS APP, is an ineractive app that allows kids to draw their own pigeons and create their own pigeon stories as well as record their voices reading them.

The drawing class, dictated by Mo himself, was Lily’s favorite feature.  The feature teaches you how to draw the pigeon giving tips on how the placement of the eye determines the mood of the pigeon or making funny sounds when drawing lines.

Someone went a little crazy!

Overall I love this app. It’s very entertaining. Lily loves drawing the pigeon and working on the stories. The app is defiently an extension of the books and Lily loves the books, thus was happy to see the author on the iphone and hear him talk. The “Bus Driver” also makes an appearance and of course … the pigeon.

Although we love this app, I am not sure I would have paid the $6.99 for it. There are a ton of other free or low priced apps that do all the same things EXCEPT no pigeon. This app might be for the Mo Willems fans.

“Don’t Let the Pigeon Run This App!” is available for $6.99 from the App Store on the iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch or at www.itunes.com/appstore.
For more, visit www.disneybookapps.com and www.facebook.com/DisneyDigitalBooks, or follow @DisneyDigitalBooks on Twitter. 
* I was sent a code to review this app for free. All opinions are my own*
