Contact Paper Printing

I discovered screen printing and all things printing two years ago. When Matt and I became parents, I was home alot…I mean a lot… I had to slow down on my dance life and there was no such thing as going out with friends. All you parents know what I’m talking about. Dance was my creative outlet and I was so starved for creativity that I started reading all the blogs on ETSY. Every artist had a blog and I would sit through and read every one of the posts until the wee hours of the morning. For some reason, the printing blogs stuck with me. So I taught myself how to screen print and played around with different printing techniques.

Making a screen is a lot of work and most times I don’t have the luxury of time to make a screen for my designs. So when I discovered that there were short cuts I was all over it!

ENTER –  contact paper printing.

To do this project you will need the following:

  • T-shirt, pillowcase, waterglass, bag…whatever you want to print
  • Exacto knife, cutting mat
  • Paints that relate to the surface you are working on. I recommend acrylic paints for most surfaces. Fabric paints for cloth.
  • Contact paper- can be found at grocery store, Target..etc.I found mine at the dollar store and bought a handful.

  • Next, Draw your image on the contact paper and cut a border around the image. * Your image will print backwards so when drawing letters and numbers, be sure to flip it *

  • Get your exacto knife and carefully cut out the image you want. Exposing the negative space AKA- space you want printed on your surface.
  • Voila! my image cut out- exposing the negative space. * notice how the image is flipped*

  • Peel the back of the contact paper and put the sticky side down on your surface. Make sure you get all the air bubbles out. I used a T-shirt as my surface. * Make sure you put a piece of cardboard or something similar on the back of your T-Shirt so the color does not bleed over to the back of the shirt.

  • Get a sponge and dip it in your paint and carefully ‘DAB” NOT “RUB’ your paint in the negative space.

  • This is what it will look like when you finish adding the paint. Let the paint dry before peeling the contact paper so the paint does not bleed and you get a clean outline.

  • and done!!

Lily wore her shirt to school and her friends loved it and so did her teacher!

* Check out my D.I.Y. page for more fun projects *

 

